Why do we have to be shaken to wake up?

We all know life is not a guarantee no matter how old or young you are accidents and sicknesses happen.

We are here one day and gone the next, and it gets me thinking… Why do we realize things when it’s too late? Does life needs to be taken away from someone for us to realize things we should already know? Is this the only way we learn?

Its not the first time I experience the dead of someone I love, but I often go back to the patterns of complaining for utter bullshit I could easily change, or I get mad at people I love, or cut them out of my life, killing them from my memories as many times I have to, in hopes to remove them completely from my life.

But then you hear someone you know got sick or just died, and it shakes you, shakes your world and makes you want to pick up the phone and call someone just to tell him or her you love them.

tumblr_o7rpqjmC5T1riowtoo1_500

Or someone gets into an accident and you realize life can be gone just like that, without warning, then that thing that was bothering you for so long suddenly doesn’t matter because, what kind of problem could be bigger than the end of a life without warning? I know people are really suffering and sometimes dead doesn’t even compare but, I’m talking about the every day life, the things that puts us in bad mood, things we choose to live with, because we are doing NOTHING to change them, we are just complaining.

I want to promise myself one thing, I will not go days without talking to my family, I will not go to bed angry with my brother and I will never stop telling my family how much I love them. I don’t want to be shaken by life to realize this matters.

I’m going to do things that really scare me, things I’ve always wanted to do but didn’t because I didn’t want to be judged.

Being judged is not going to matter one day, but not doing what you wanted to because you were too scared of what people would say its going to matter when you’re In your dead bed and its going to matter the most, because there’s no going back or going forward, that is it.

So why wait to be shaken by life to react and to act? Why do we have to hear bad news to appreciate the good ones? We are all old enough to know these things but we elect to ignore them., So don’t. Take it from me, you’re not going to want to be shaken to wake up, you should be up now, do it, pickup the phone and call that person, just tell him/her you love them… Do what scares you, let people talk, I promise you its better to be talked about than forgotten.

tumblr_omw8f4Ldcv1s48wp6o1_540.png

Responder

